Week 8: Prayer Action Points

“We are the clay, you are the potter; we are all the work of your hand” (Isa. 64:8).

This week, practice the prayer of pliability. Instead of focusing on what you want God to do for you, focus on allowing Him to shape your desires until they match His. Accept each situation in your life as His hand shaping your thoughts, character, and longings.

Let us know how your times of prayer are enriched.

About Jennifer Kennedy Dean

Author and speaker
This entry was posted in A Praying Life, Prayer Action Points. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Week 8: Prayer Action Points

  1. Pat4037 says:

    Just reflecting on the presence of Christ in me has helped me to foward the prayer requests of others, wthout any personal comments, just trusting that God will meet their needs .

  2. AprilB says:

    I really like the Prayer Points. They are short and focused.

  3. Love to use my daily Bible reading as a prayer action and write what I pray in my Bible reading journal.

  4. Debra Compton says:

    Finally let go of my focus on an issue and the Lord spoke in my heart from 2 Corinthians, letting me see my error. I mulled it over, agreed, and the very next sermon under the teaching of a trusted pastor, HE spoke the same truth, same scripture ref. and complete idea thru this man of God. HE is faithful to speak HIS desires into HIS vessels.

  5. kimlenon says:

    Thank you for the reminder that He is the potter. When we can remember that we can truly pray not my will but yours!

  6. Marie says:

    I love to pray Scripture. It really has changed my focus on praying His will for my life as well as family members. He knows what I need way more than I do. To know Him more and to love Him passionately is most important. Thank you for your praying ministry.

    • Pat4037 says:

      I love to pray scripture also, Marie. This morning I noted that Jesus when praying in the garden first asked God to remove the way set before him if possible, yet not his will but the father’s be done. In the second prayer Jesus acknowledges it might not be possible but still he asks that God;s will be done. The third time he prays he prays acknowledging both the possible or not possible always ending with the desire for God’s will to prevail. I learned today that I can do the same when I pray about difficult things.

  7. Bev says:

    Jennifer, Thank you for this prayer point. I love this Scripture. Your comment “Accept each situation in your life as His hand shaping your thoughts, character, and longings.” Very appropriate today as Winter Storm Q messes with our plans to meet up with our two sons and daughter-in-law. May this “crucifixion moment” give me the opportunity to be pliable and patient rather than fretful and frustrated. Blessings to you and your ministry!

  8. Elizabeth says:

    Tough season in life and this is a great encouragement to me. I have been struggling with my focus moving from self to Him and His will. Actually wrestling with my desire to receive what I want being stronger than my desire for the will of God to be fulfilled. May I fall into His arms as I allow Him to shape my thoughts, ,my character, my longings.

  9. Beanzzz says:

    Loved this… really need reminders to keep submitting and surrendering all. Also, that everything that comes to me is from His hand… so I should not keep trying to avoid the pain of shaping. He will help me to walk through the pain, not try to go around, but submit to His yoke.

  10. April S. says:

    Yes, He is Our Potter, the Author and Finisher of our Faith! To be a Victorious Christian our Daily walk with the LORD must begin with Prayer. As we enter into His Holy Presence we need to Praise and Worshp Him and Offer our Lord Thanksgiving and then not only Surrender,and give our requests to our LORD, but Listen to what His Spirit is saying to ours -in order to surrender any hindrances or blocks or sin at the Cross to be a Vessel our Master can use for His Glory, Will, and Purpose. They say every Pastor who has failed or backslidden in their Minstry did so because they
    stopped Praying! Life Is too Fragile! We must Handle with entering into the Real Presence of God in Prayer! ALLELUYAH! and AMEN!

    • Pat4037 says:

      Because he is our loving Potter he frees us to worship and pray in spirit and in truth. We are privledged to be able to do so but we are not obligated. True love delights in doing that which is pleasing to the beloved.

  11. Betty Mullaney says:

    Wow, this is my first visit to the blog and I love the Prayer Action Points. I’m going to start implementing them right away. Thank you Jennifer, for being a vessel for Jesus and teaching us how to pray!.

Leave a Reply

