My Rock and My Salvation

By Jennifer Kennedy Dean

From The One Year Praying the Promises of God

“Truly my soul finds rest in God;
my salvation comes from him.
Truly he is my rock and my salvation;
he is my fortress, I will never be shaken” (Psalm 62:1-2).

Are anxiety, fear, and stress your constant companions? Does uncertainty dog your way? Are you plagued with feelings of insecurity? Is your soul in a state of turmoil? The Father wants to take you by the hand and lead you into His rest, just as He took Israel by the hand to lead her out of Egypt and unto the Land of Rest (Jer. 31:32). God instituted a life of sabbath, which means at rest, complete, fulfilled. He wants to teach you that sabbath is not just a day of the week but it is a state of the soul.

He wants you to know the secret of living in a soul-sabbath. It means more than an absence of activity. It means a settled, deep stillness. It means to be relaxed in body and soul. The opposite of this kind of rest is restlessness.

Sabbath for you and me means living our lives in absolute surrender and total trust in the finished work of Christ. Not only is the salvation work finished in Him, but every need that comes into our lives has already been provided for; every dilemma has already been resolved; every question has already been answered. We simply have to place our lives in the flow of His provision. Simply abide in Christ. Simply live where the power is operating. The kingdom of God is the land where the soul has continual sabbath-rest.

Hear Jesus’ invitation to your heart: ““Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls” (Matthew 11:28-29).

Jesus, I receive Your promise of rest for my soul. Teach me. Show me how to rest in You, and in everything that You have available to me. Show me where I am struggling and missing the soul-sabbath You have for me.

“The branch of the vine does not worry, and toil, and rush here to seek for sunshine, and there to find rain. No; it rests in union and communion with the vine; and at the right time, and in the right way, is the right fruit found on it. Let us so abide in the Lord Jesus. “ (James Hudson Taylor 1832-1905)

About Jennifer Kennedy Dean

Author and speaker
This entry was posted in Praying the Promises and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

