Satisfied in Him

By Jennifer Kennedy Dean
From The One Year Praying the Promises of God

You satisfy me more than the richest feast.
I will praise you with songs of joy” (Psalm 63:5).

God has created us so that nothing will satisfy us but Him. “He has planted eternity in the human heart” (Ecclesiastes 3:11) and nothing temporal will satisfy.  We might spend our lives searching for the missing piece that will finally make us whole or give us the contentment we long for. If only I owned this. If only I could do that. If only this would change. If we are not careful, we can live on a treadmill of elusive desires. Outside Christ, nothing is ever enough.

The Creator designed us to have needs and desires. He built needs and desires into our blueprint so that they  would be His entry points into our lives. He configured out needs so that they would be an exact match to His provision. as if the two were interlocking parts, fitting together hand in glove.

We often take those God-designed needs and desires and try to find their fulfillment on our own, from something or someone other than God.  God’s promise to us is that He will satisfy every need and every desire with Himself. We will never be fully satisfied on earth because earth is not our home. But we will find the contentment for which we were created when we let all our desires swing to Him like a magnet swings to true north. He is the polestar of our souls.

Hear my prayer: “O God, you are my God; I earnestly search for you. My soul thirsts for you; my whole body longs for you in this parched and weary land where there is no water” (Psalms 63:1).

“If I am a son of God, nothing but God will satisfy my soul; no amount of comfort, no amount of ease, no amount of pleasure, will give me peace or rest. If I had the full cup of all the world’s joys held up to me, and could drain it to the dregs, I should still remain thirsty if I had not God. “ (Geoffrey Studdert Kennedy 1883-1929)

About Jennifer Kennedy Dean

Author and speaker
This entry was posted in Praying the Promises and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

