The Path of Surrender

As I consider the wonder of Jesus, whose body was
formed in the womb of Mary, I find myself longing for
the character of the Christ to be formed in me.

Like Mary, I embrace Your promise: “But you will
receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you”
(Acts 1:8). Like Mary, I declare myself Your servant.
Like Mary, I want Your Word to be accomplished in
my life. “Blessed is she who has believed that what
the Lord has said to her will be accomplished!” (Luke 1:45 NIV).

How fully did Mary have to yield to You? Did she
find new ways every day to surrender? As a teenage
girl on the cusp of adulthood, she surely did not see the
whole picture on that one day. The surrender must have
continued and deepened all her life. How often was she
surprised at the things she had thought she could hold
on to, but found she had to yield. She did not just believe
You once in one bright shining moment, but she had to
keep believing You anew.

I pray that You will keep me in the path of surrender
“until Christ is formed in [me]” (Galatians 4:19).
The most impossible thing I can imagine is that I could
be fully yielded in every way—that my stubborn, prideful,
resistant self could be reformed by the presence of
Christ in me. But “nothing is impossible with God”
(Luke 1:37 NIV).

Holy Spirit, come upon me, hover over me, overshadow
me. Fill me with Your power and Your presence.
Impregnate me with the life of Christ. I believe that what
You have spoken will be accomplished.

From Pursuing the Christ

About Jennifer Kennedy Dean

Author and speaker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Path of Surrender

  1. Karen Rogiers says:

    This is my first time reading your blog. It is in someway comforting to know that one who is used as mightily by our Lord, as you, cries aloud for the same thing I do! Blessings to you, dear woman of God!! Our Lord hears your faintest cry and will bless you to have the very “desires of your heart”!

Leave a Reply

